The older buildings are mostly built in the renaissance and baroque style. Among the houses and palaces from the 16th and 17th centuries, the ones that stand out are the renaissance Garibaldi Palace with an inscription from 1552, the summer house of Marin Gazarović, a poet from Hvar, from the first half of the 17th century, and Jakša and Vukašinović-Dojmi houses. Here, you can also find forts from different historical periods (Venice, England and Austria-Hungary).
City architecture from the 19th and early 20th century (Neoclassicism and Secession; Croatian Home, Tramontana house, elementary school)
During the 17th century, Vis was fortified by four towers: two were in Kut, one in the Smiderevo area, and one was built by Vinko Perasi in 1615 in Luka.
The Gospa od Spilice parish church was built around 1500. A painting by Girolamo Santacroce called Madonna with Saints is kept there.
St. Cyprian's Church is located in Kut. This church was cited already in the 16th century. The door inscription warns that it was renovated in 1742 in the baroque style. A richly decorated wooden pulpit is found in the church. The coffered ceiling decorated with paintings is particularly interesting.
The Church of the Holy Spirit from the beginning of the 17th century is found in Luka. After the defeat of the French in 1811, Vis was taken by the English who fortified it by several fortresses which are now in ruins.
St. Nicholas’s Church, the most important church in Komiža, rises above the town and provides magnificent views over the open sea and most remote islands of Biševo, St. Andrew and Palagruža.
Falkuša, a Komiža fishing boat (gajeta), represented Croatia at Portugal World Fair (EXPO) in 1998. St. Nicholas’s monastery was cited in the second half of the 13th century. That monastery was moved by the Benedictines from the island of Biševo. The remaining monastery structure with a church and tower originates from the 17th century. Inside the church, valuable baroque altars are kept. The monastery tower was built around 1645 by order of Francesco Molina, a Dalmatian proveditor, for the purpose of stronger defence.
Gospa Gusarica, a renaissance church, was built in the late 16th century. It belonged to a brotherhood of fishermen. In the church, there are baroque altars with paintings from that same period.
The castle in the middle of the harbour was built in 1585, during the reign of Ivan Grimani, a Croatian prince and proveditor. There is a renaissance inscription on the castle concerning construction and a coat of arms carved in stone.
Above the town, there is a little church of Gospa Planica built in the baroque style in the shape of a rotunda.